top of page

Blog

Featured Posts

Birmingham Backdrop

I have never been quiet about my fondness of the studio. With the perfect lighting and white wash walls, it leaves for beautiful, crips photography that does not require much editing.

Although I love post processing (especially in Photoshop) the whole thing can be slightly tiring especially after a long day of shooting and I am one of those tedious people who likes the photos to be shot and edited on the same day. So the studio is perfect for me.

However, a client recently approached me expressing her desire to shoot on location in the centre of Birmingham for her website which sells mens blazers.

After suggesting Victoria Square for its picturesque walls, we spent 2 hours shooting our model in a variety of outfits.

Completely out of my comfort zone, I found myself struggling to get the exposure right in the beginning as it was a bright day and the background we had chosen was a bright cream. That combined with the dark blazers sent my ISO crazy.

What I found was that although the in camera flash should not be used regulary, in this instance it was extremely helpful for filling in all of the shadows that were causing so much contrast. Auto-focus was also not my friend during this shoot- it was under the impression that nothing was there to focus on! Manual focus may be a bit of a fiddle but I honestly recommend it as long as your subject of focus is not moving and you have the ability to judge the depth of field you require.

This shoot was so much f

un and I made a valuable contact who will hopefully provide me with future projects. It definitely taught me that if you push yourself as a photographer you can achieve things you never thought you would have the guts to attempt!

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic
  • Twitter Basic
  • Google+ Basic
bottom of page