top of page

Blog

Featured Posts

Don't Shop, Swap!

I have done work with Eco BCUSU before-throughout the year they have reached out to SnapScratch several times. So when they asked me if I would photograph their latest event which collaborated with third year textile students, I jumped at the chance.

In the gorgeous vintage setting of The Custard Factory in Birmingham, they put on the most beautiful clothes swap during which they established the rule that if you bring 5 items, you get 5 tokens to 'spend' on other peoples items. The principle behind this event was 'Don't Shop, Swap!'.

There were rails of assorted clothing, set out according to size and gender. It was certainly a feast for the eyes; vintage patterns and textures galore! Free tea and coffee on tap and gorgeous cakes and croissants made the event even better and many of the students held small 'upcycling' demonstrations, helping visitors to revamp their old garments. A small stall offered dainty handmade items such as cards, gift tags, phone covers and the sweetest little hand knitted animals. I became extremely fond of a red Llama!

A raffle was also held with high street vouchers up for grabs but I sadly didn't win. I could have done with a shopping spree!

Well organised and wonderfully set out, the event was definitely something I would go to again whether I was photographing or not. The atmosphere was great and with a bar downstairs and a band playing upstairs, what more could you want?

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

No tags yet.

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic
  • Twitter Basic
  • Google+ Basic
bottom of page